Disabled American Veterans Swamp Fox Chapter 17 10154 Bell Wright Road Summerville SC 29483

## Minutes for 20 March 2014 Meeting

The regular meeting was called to order at 1932 by Commander Curtis

Opening prayer given by Chaplain Tallon

Pledge of allegiance led by Junior Vice Commander Jensen

Officers: 11 Officers present, 1 absent

Visitors: None

Reading the minutes of the last meeting was waived.

<u>Treasurer's report</u> was given by Jack Olson.

Sickness and distress: None noted.

New members: Leroy Ganaway and Gene Milligan were first time attendees.

Correspondence: Letter from Cain Bay HS concerning awards night.

<u>Hospital committee report</u>: The February 18 visit included Gary Jones, Jacque Coram, Sarah Harry, Bob Wells and James Ray.

<u>Service Officer</u>: Buzz Nielsen reported that in January CSOs helped 711 veterans by working 359 hours. He is making arrangements for a DAV van to take attendees to the CSO training May 1.

Legislative Committee: Jack Olson provided an update on the Independent Budget.

Publicity: No report

Membership: Senior Vice Commander Stout reported that we had exceeded our goal by six new members.

Scholarship: Joe Tallon stated that one application had been received.

Hospital Service Coordinator:

Old business: None.

## New business:

Chapter shirts were distributed

The Camp Corral fund raiser will be March 31 to May 31. DAV does not allow solicitations for Camp Corral, but members can participate as veterans without any DAV identification.

Nominations were made and officers were elected: Jerry Stout (Commander), Bob Jensen (Senior Vice Commander) and Allen McNealy (Junior Vice Commander). Appointed officers were: Waymon Atchley (Treasurer), Dennis Cox (Chaplain) and Buzz Nielsen (Adjutant). Installation was performed by Charles Wood, District 1 Commander.

Motion was made to adjourn. Closing prayer given by Chaplain Cox.

Commander Stout led in the salute to the flag.

The meeting was closed at 2030.

The Auxiliary provided the Commander's Reception.

Door prizes were awarded.

Our next meeting will be 17 April 2014.

James Ray